In parallel, during summer, 2004, an activity of test and systematic validation of the spatial embedeed software by the SCE began. This process added to the development aims at enhancing reliability of the software in all its scales (unit functions, integrated modules and system on target). It requires the help of several testers, a strong implication of programmers and system engineers, and the use of a more familiar methodology from transport industry or defense than laboratories.

SDI, already strongly involved in the Planck systems test in the LPSC, was in charge of coordination and of project management of this work, at the boundary of the electronics, computing, system and test methods. A test team was established with persons of the various departments of the laboratory, but also researchers of the LPSC's Planck group.

A first iteration of unit testing was confided to a specialized provider, CAPTEC, recommended by the European Space Agency. This major stage however showed its limits: later evolutions of the software questioned most of the validation obtained in this period, and then the provider restricted the field of his responsibilities to modules of which he mastered best the testing.

At the beginning of 2005, this service ended and the objective remained to finish the critical module delivery test, a "boot" software, which cannot be anymore modified once implanted in the electronics. The test software team took up this challenge by using partially the example and the previous results, for one somewhere else the expertise of the Grenoble Computing Laboratory (LIG - INPG / UJF / CNRS), interested in our nitiative, and finally of a good dose of imagination and practical spirit.

Until September, 2005, two trainees of the LIG also made an important contribution by completing the unit testing on the "application" software part using Cantata++ testing software. This last phase formally closed at the beginning of 2006, but scripts and testing tools have remained inseparable of the software during its whole life.

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Planck experiment homepage


 

Within the CODALEMA experiment framework which the LPSC joined in the year 2005, in association with the Subatech laboratory in Nantes, the SDI designed and deployed in autumn, 2005, a network of cosmic rays detections, composed of five stations of detectors with scintillators and photomultipliers. These detectors are had on both sides the network of décamétric antennas, exploited for the detection of the radio waves emitted by the cosmic sparks.

The acquisition system of these detectors is based, at the material point of view, MATACQ cards type VME, developped by the LAL and the IRFU (ex DAPNIA), so as to be able to become integrated into the system existing on the antenna network. The department implemented this acquisition and developed several programs under LabVIEW allowing to get back and store data, to make an on-line control of the rates of events as well as the piloting of the photomultipliers high voltages.

By means of the IT service of the LPSC, an automatic backup system of the data was set up and checks it remotely. The experiment can be made in a way secured way through the Internet network.

070207-Vue CodA svn65

 

The installation of the CODALEMA experiment, on the site of the radio telescope of Nançay, continued until 2007. The department deployed four new stations of scintillators detection in March, 2006, so coming to complete 5 stations already installed in 2005. The capture of data with this network of new detectors continued till the end of 2006.

In January, 2007, in difficult weather conditions, the department again installed four new detection stations, so completing the network of thirteen scintillators detectors planned at the origin of the project.

IM004107  IMG 2354

CodalemaNancay

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink CODALEMA homepage


During year 2002, the prototype of the control system of the 20K cryo-generator of the Planck satellite , developped by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), laboratory of the NASA of Pasadena, USA, was made.

Two campaigns of tests in 2002 and one in 2003 were necessary to qualify material and software aspects of this device. These tests took place in close collaborations with the electronics department of the LPSC. The prototype being directly connected to the cryo-generator prototype itself, on the JPL site. The SDI, which is responsible for a part of the technical project management, organized these tests as well as the associated procedures. we also assured the development and the implementation of of the command system and an interactive application under LabVIEW, allowing to pilot the whole device by simulating the interfaces of the satellite.

These campaigns of check were a big success, demonstrating the sensible character of the solutions of design proposed by the laboratory as well as the smooth running of the communication between the teams of the LPSC and the JPL.

After a long period of definition of the characteristics and the interfaces, the prototype command system of the cryo-generator 100mK of the satellite could be made has the end of year 2003.

The tests of qualification of this system took place in the year 2004, on the site of Air Liquide of Sassenage, manufacturer of the cryo-generator. The SDI developed the control system and an application under LabVIEW, capable of simulate the definitive piloting of the device (Data Processor Unit, DPU) developed by the LAL at Orsay.

030509-02 IMG 0705

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Planck homepage

Durant l'été 2004, une activité de test et de validation systématique du logiciel spatial embarqué du SCE a débuté. Ce processus adjoint au développement a pour but de fiabiliser le logiciel à toutes ses échelles (fonctions unitaires, modules intégrés et système sur cible). Il exige le concours de plusieurs testeurs, une forte implication des programmeurs et des ingénieurs système, et l'emploi d'une méthodologie plus familière de l'industrie des transports ou de la défense que des laboratoires.

Le SDI, déjà fortement impliqué dans le test des systèmes Planck au LPSC, a été chargé de coordonner et de piloter ce travail, à la frontière de l'électronique, de l'informatique, du système et des méthodes de test. Une équipe de test a été constituée avec des personnes des différents services du laboratoire, mais aussi des chercheurs du groupe Planck du LPSC.

Une première itération de test unitaire a été confiée à un prestataire spécialisé, CAPTEC, recommandé par l'Agence Spatiale Européenne. Cette étape incontournable a toutefois montré ses limites car les évolutions ultérieures du logiciel ont remis en cause la plupart des validations obtenues à cette époque, et puis le prestataire a restreint le champ de ses responsabilités à des modules dont il maîtrisait le test.

Début 2005, cette prestation s'est terminée et l'objectif restait d'achever le test pour la livraison d'un module critique, le logiciel de "boot", qui ne peut plus être modifié une fois implanté dans l'électronique. L'équipe de test logiciel a relevé ce défi en s'aidant pour une part de l'exemple et des résultats précédents, pour une autre part de l'expertise du Laboratoire Informatique de Grenoble (LIG - INPG/UJF/CNRS), intéressé par notre démarche, et enfin d'une bonne dose d'imagination et d'esprit pratique.

Jusqu'en septembre 2005, deux stagiaires du LIG ont aussi apporté une importante contribution en complétant les tests unitaires sur la partie "applicatif" du logiciel à l'aide du logiciel Cantata++. Cette dernière phase s'est formellement close début 2006, mais les scripts et les outils de test sont restés indissociables du logiciel pendant toute la durée de sa vie.

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'expérience Planck


 

Dans le cadre de l’expérience CODALEMA à laquelle le LPSC s’est ralliée courant 2005, en collaboration avec le laboratoire de Subatech à Nantes, le SDI a conçu et déployé à l’automne 2005, un réseau de détection de rayons cosmiques, composé de cinq stations de détecteurs à base de scintillateurs et photomultiplicateurs. Ces détecteurs sont disposés de part et d’autre du réseau d’antennes décamétriques, exploité pour la détection des ondes radio émises par les gerbes cosmiques.

Le système d’acquisition de ces détecteurs est basé, du point de vu matériel, sur les cartes MATACQ de type VME, développées par le LAL et l'IRFU (ex DAPNIA), de façon à pouvoir s’intégrer au système existant sur le réseau d’antenne. Le service a mis en œuvre cette acquisition et a développé plusieurs programmes sous LabVIEW permettant de récupérer et de stocker les données, d’effectuer un contrôle en ligne des taux d’événements ainsi que le pilotage des hautes tensions nécessaires aux photomultiplicateurs.

Avec l’aide du service informatique du LPSC, un système de sauvegarde automatique des données a été mis en place et le contrôle à distance de l’expérience peut s’effectuer de façon sécurisée à travers le réseau Internet.

070207-Vue CodA svn65

 

L’installation de l’expérience CODALEMA, sur le site du radiotélescope de Nançay, s’est poursuivie jusqu'en 2007. Le service a déployé quatre nouvelles stations de détection à scintillateurs en mars 2006, venant ainsi compléter les 5 stations déjà installées en 2005. La prise de données avec ce réseau de neufs détecteurs s’est poursuivi jusqu’à la fin 2006.

En janvier 2007, dans des conditions climatiques difficiles, le service a de nouveau installé quatre nouvelles stations de détection, complétant ainsi le réseau des treize détecteurs à scintillateurs prévus à l’origine du projet.

IM004107  IMG 2354

CodalemaNancay

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'expérience CODALEMA


Durant l’année 2002, le prototype du système de commande du cryo-générateur 20K du satellite Planck, développé par le Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), laboratoire de la NASA à Pasadena, USA, a été fabriqué.

Deux campagnes de tests en 2002 et une en 2003 ont été nécessaires pour qualifier les aspects matériels et logiciels de ce dispositif. Ces tests ont eu lieu en étroites collaboration avec les service d’électronique du LPSC. Le prototype étant connectés directement au prototype du cryo-générateur lui même, sur le site du JPL. Le SDI, qui est responsable d’une partie du management technique du projet, a organisé ces tests ainsi que les procédures associées. Il a également assuré le développement et la mise en œuvre d’un système de commande et d’une application interactive sous LabVIEW, permettant de piloter l’ensemble du dispositif en simulant les interfaces du satellite.

Ces campagnes de vérification ont été un grand succès, démontrant le caractère judicieux des solutions de design proposées par le laboratoire ainsi que le bon fonctionnement de la communication entre les équipes du LPSC et du JPL.

Apres une longue période de définition des caractéristiques et des interfaces, le prototype du système de commande du cryo-générateur 100mK du satellite a pu être fabriqué a la fin de l’année 2003.

Les tests de qualification de ce système se sont déroulés courant 2004, sur le site d’Air Liquide à Sassenage, fabricant du cryo-générateur. Le SDI a développé un système de commande et une application sous LabVIEW, capable de simuler le dispositif de pilotage définitif (Data Processor Unit, DPU) développé par le LAL a Orsay.

030509-02 IMG 0705

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'expérience Planck