ALICE : GMS:


The muon spectrometer is arranged in front of the ALICE detector and is composed, among others, of hadronic absorber and 10 plans of wire chambers grouped in 5 stations. The latter allow to reconstruct the muons trajectory, bent by electromagnetic field of a dipolar magnet. Because of possible distortions and movements undergone by the structures, an alignment measurement of these 10 trajectography chambers, in better than 50 µm in the tracks curvature direction, is absolutely necessary to reach an invariant mass resolution better than 1%.

The GMS (Geometry Monitoring System) will allow to measure this alignment. It is constituted of optical lines BCAM and PROX among whom the number and the position were determined by simulation.

To allow the validaion of these simulations, the geometrical reconstructions programs as well as to study the effects on the dispersal of the measurements due to a thermal gradient etc., the LPSC took in charge the study and the realization of a workbench representing the scale 1 half a chamber) of stations 6, 7, 8 of the spectrometer. Chambers are realized in aluminum profiles. They allow the binding, in 4 corners, of optical elements such as they will be fixed in the experiment ALICE. The central chamber bases on motorized tables which allow known values moves, which GMS has to find. The chamber 6 is equipped with a heating and breathtaking device allowing to study the thermal influence of the active zones of the detector on the resolution of the optical elements measurements.

Our department took in charge:

The workbench technical coordination and realization.

The heating and breathtaking device study and the realization.

The study, the choice and the programming (LabVIEW) of 3 motorized tables.

The workbench assembly and the complete cabling.

The campaign of measurements, in which the department participated actively took place from January till June, 2006.

Report: Mehdi Meziane Training report

Report : Results from the test bench of the GMS

 

gmsEnsemble2 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact : Muraz Jean-François





 


 

 

SuperB - FTOF

 

Logo-SuperB   FTOF

  • Design and realization of a muon detection telescope

DSCF4271

This document presents the technical characteristics of this telescope

 

Contact : Muraz Jean-François

 


 

UCN

Within the framework of a collaboration between the LPSC UCN group and the Paul Scherrer Institute, the SDI developped its experience in the cryogenics field to take in hand the thorny problem of the cryogenic liquid deuterium level probe design and realization, mechanically resisting at the product solidification.

The proposed solution is a capacitive probe constituted of two concentric tubes adjusted in a extremely precise way. This very reliable solution does not exist in the market.

These probes are electrically bound with a small electronic oscillator, the signal output which presents a proportional frequency  of the liquidlevel.

In ice tests showed that the liquid solidification into which is dipped the probe does not damage it and does not modify its characteristics.

Four probes were so realized in 2007.

UCN 1 

PA180002

ALICE : GMS:

Le spectromètre à muons est disposé à l'avant du détecteur ALICE et est composé, entre autre, d’un absorbeur hadronique et de 10 plans de chambres à fils regroupées en 5 stations. Ces dernières permettent de reconstruire la trajectoire des muons, courbée par le champ d’un aimant dipolaire. Du fait d'éventuelles déformations et déplacements subis par les structures, une mesure de l'alignement de ces 10 chambres de trajectographie, à mieux que 50 µm dans la direction de courbure des traces, est absolument nécessaire pour atteindre une résolution en masse invariante meilleure que 1%.

Le GMS (Geometry Monitoring System) permettra de mesurer cet alignement. Il est constitué de lignes otiques BCAM et PROX dont le nombre et la position ont été déterminés par simulation.

Pour permettre de valider ces simulations, les programmes de reconstructions géométriques ainsi que d’étudier les effets sur la dispersion des mesures dues à un gradient thermique...etc., le LPSC a pris en charge l’étude et la réalisation d’un banc de test représentant à l'échelle 1 les demi chambres des stations 6, 7, 8 du spectromètre. Les chambres sont réalisées en profilés d'aluminium. Elles permettent la fixation, dans les 4 coins, des éléments optiques tels qu'ils seront fixés dans l'expérience ALICE. La chambre centrale repose sur des tables motorisées qui permettent de la déplacer d'une valeur connue, que le GMS doit retrouver. La chambre 6 est équipée d'un dispositif chauffant et soufflant permettant d'étudier l'influence thermique des zones actives du détecteur sur la résolution des éléments optiques de mesure.

Notre service a pris en charge :

La coordination technique de la réalisation du banc de test.

L’étude et la réalisation du dispositif chauffant et soufflant

L’étude, le choix et la programmation (LabVIEW) des 3 tables motorisées

Le montage et le câblage complet du banc de test.

La campagne de mesure, à laquelle le service a participé activement s'est déroulée de janvier à juin 2006.

Rapport: Rapport de stage de Mehdi Meziane

Rapport : Results from the test bench of the GMS

 

gmsEnsemble2 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact : Muraz Jean-François





 


 

 

SuperB - FTOF

 

Logo-SuperB   FTOF


  • Conception et réalisation d'un telescope à muon

DSCF4271

Ce document présente les caractéristiques techniques de ce télescope

 

Contact : Muraz Jean-François

 


 

UCN

Dans le cadre d’une collaboration entre le groupe UCN du LPSC et l’Institut Paul Scherrer (Suisse), le SDI a valorisé son expérience passée dans le domaine de la cryogénie pour prendre en main le problème épineux de la conception et de la réalisation d’une sonde cryogénique de niveau de deutérium liquide, devant résister mécaniquement à la solidification du produit.

La solution proposée est une sonde capacitive constituée de deux tubes concentriques ajustés de façon extrêmement précise. Cette solution très fiable n’existe pas sur le marché.

Ces sondes sont reliées électriquement à un petit oscillateur électronique, dont le signal de sortie présente une fréquence proportionnelle au niveau du liquide.

Des essais dans la glace ont montré que la solidification du liquide dans lequel est trempée la sonde ne la détériore pas et ne modifie pas ses caractéristiques.

Quatre sondes ont ainsi été réalisées en 2007.

UCN 1 

PA180002