ATLAS : pre-sampler manufacturing:

Since November, 1991, date of group ATLAS (LHC-CERN) creation at LPSC, the SDI was involved at high level on the survey (R&D) and the manufacturing of the pre-sampler (front part) of the Liquid Argon electromagnetic calorimeter of ATLAS. This activity ended in 2003, after 3 years of production, tests and integration of 64 sectors.

This document redraws in image the history (from 1992 till 2003) of the construction and the insertion of pr-sampler.
 ATLAS Detector

HD Image of a pre-sampler sector:

presampler a3

HD Image of the M wheel and of 32 pre-sampler sector inserted in the crysotat:

roue M dans cryostat

Contact : Muraz Jean-François


Functional Tests

After Planck satellite control system prototype 20K cryo-generator (Sorption Coolers Electronic, SCE) tests successes in 2003, the manufacturing of the qualification and flight models were confided to EADS-CRISA (space industry), in Spain, at the beginning of 2004.

The delivery of the first qualification model (EQM) during the curse of 2004 permitted to realize the coupled tests with the flight cryo-generator at the end of the year, again on JPL's site, NASA laboratory at Pasadena, USA.

The department was responsible here for the organization of these tests as well as the software development of the tools of piloting and tests, developed under LabVIEW®. The realization of the it test first ones with the flight cryo-generator, led in close collaboration with the electronics department of the laboratory, were, even there, successful and allowed the development of the embedeed software for which the laboratory is responsible.

PLANCK1 54130055

The second qualification model ( CQM), identical in all to the future flight models but built with not spatial qualified components, was delivered to us at the beginning of year 2005. The department organized the second campaign of test at the JPL in spring, 2005, always coupled with the flight cryo-generator, just before its delivery in Europe. This last campaign in the USA allowed to test several specific procedures recently implemented in the embedeed software, among which the procedures of automatic covering of functioning error, necessary for enhanced reliability of the system during flight.

During the beginning of the first half of the year 2006, EADS-CRISA delivered three flight models of the electronic case SCE, two models which will be integrated on the satellite (FM1 and FM2) and an extra model (PFM). The SDI was responsible for the implementation and the execution of the functional tests on these cases, according to the current spatial quality plan, in the ESA standards.

These tests took place at the LPSC in clean room, until June, 2006, date in which the electronics FM1 and FM2 was delivered to the satellite's manufacturer (Thales Alenia Space in Cannes) for integration.

P6190003 PLANCK2

In parallel in these functional tests, a campaign of cryogenic validation tests took place in spring, 2006, implementing both flight Sorption Coolers, integrated on the Planck satellite model of qualification, associated to the case SCE of qualification (CQM) tested and delivered at the end of 2005. These tests took place over several weeks, at the Space Center of Liege ( CSL) in Belgium, and allowed to validate a part of the cryogenic aspects of Sorption Cooler and its control electronic housing.

 DSC00107

At the end of the year on 2006, the qualification SCE housing was re-qualified in avionic housing (AVM) to be a part of avionic tests on a satellite's model. These tests, which focus essentially on the electric aspects of the satellite service module interface took place on several days, on Thales Alenia Space's site in Turin in Italy.

 IMG 1869

Finally, at the beginning of year 2007, again avionic tests took place, but this time by piloting the electronic housing from "Operating Center Mission" of the ESA (MOC), located in Darmstadt in Germany.

The SDI completely organized and widely participated in all these tests, both in the LPSC and on sites.

In 2008, the satellite is transferred on the Ariane Space's launch site at Kourou in Guiana. And even there, the SDI participates in the cryogenic tests and of pre-launch of the satellite.

After the satellite's launch, again, the department took an important part in the post-launch operations of Mission Operating Center (MOC) of the ESA, at Darmstadt in Germany.

Unit Testings

In parallel, during summer, 2004, an activity of test and systematic validation of the spatial embedeed software by the SCE began.
This process added to the development aims at enhancing reliability of the software in all its scales (unit functions, integrated modules and system on target). It requires the help of several testers, a strong implication of programmers and system engineers, and the use of a more familiar methodology from transport industry or defense than laboratories.

SDI, already strongly involved in the Planck systems test in the LPSC, was in charge of coordination and of project management of this work, at the boundary of the electronics, computing, system and test methods. A test team was established with persons of the various departments of the laboratory, but also researchers of the LPSC's Planck group.

A first iteration of unit testing was confided to a specialized provider, CAPTEC, recommended by the European Space agency. This major stage however showed its limits: indeed the later evolutions of the software questioned most of the validation obtained in this period, and then the provider restricted the field of his responsibilities to modules the test of which he mastered.

At the beginning of 2005, this service ended and the objective remained to finish the critical module delivery test, a "boot" software, which cannot be anymore modified once implanted in the electronics. The test software team took up this challenge by using partially the example and the previous results, for one somewhere else the expertise of the Computing Laboratory of Grenoble (LIG, ex LSR, laboratory Software Network Systems - INPG / UJF / CNRS), interested in our nitiative, and finally of a good dose of imagination and practical spirit.

Until September, 2005, two trainees of the LIG also made an important contribution by completing the unit testing on the "application" software part by means of the Cantata++© software. This last phase formally closed at the beginning of 2006, but the scripts and the tools of test will remain inseparable of the software during all the duration of its life.

ATLAS : Construction du pré-echantillonneur:

Depuis novembre 1991, date de la création du groupe ATLAS (LHC-CERN) au LPSC, le SDI a été impliqué de manière importante sur l’étude (R&D) et la construction du pré échantillonneur (partie avant) du calorimètre électromagnétique à Argon Liquide d'ATLAS. Cette activité s’est achevée en 2003, après 3 ans de production, tests et intégration des 64 secteurs.

Ce document retrace en image l'historique (de 1992 à 2003)  de la construction puis de l'insertion du Pré-échantillonneur.

 ATLAS Detector

Image HD d'un secteur de pré-échantillonneur:

presampler a3

Image HD de la roue M et de 32 secteurs du pré-échantillonneur insérés dans le crysotat:

roue M dans cryostat

Contact : Muraz Jean-François


Satellite Planck

Tests Fonctionnels
Apres les succès des tests du prototype du système de commande du cryo-générateur 20K (Sorption Coolers Electronic, SCE) du satellite Planck, en 2003, la fabrication des modèles de qualification et de vol ont été confiées début 2004 à un industriel du spatial, EADS-CRISA en Espagne.

La livraison du premier modèle de qualification (EQM) dans le courant de l’année 2004 a permis de réaliser des tests couplés au cryo-générateur de vol en fin d’année, de nouveau sur le site du Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), laboratoire NASA à Pasadena, USA.

Le service a ici été responsable de l’organisation de ces tests ainsi que du développement des outils logiciel de pilotage et de tests, développé sous LabVIEW®. La réalisation des ce premiers test avec le cryo-générateur de vol, menée en étroite collaboration avec le service d’électronique du laboratoire, ont été, là encore, couronné de succès et ont permis la mise au point du logiciel embarqué dont le laboratoire est responsable.

PLANCK1 54130055

Un deuxième modèle de qualification (CQM), identique en tous point aux futurs modèles de vol mais construit avec des composants non qualifiés spatial, nous a été livré au début de l’année 2005. Le service a organisé une deuxième campagne de test au JPL au printemps 2005, toujours couplé au cryo-générateur de vol, juste avant sa livraison en Europe. Cette dernière campagne aux USA a permis de tester plusieurs procédures spécifiques nouvellement implémentées dans le logiciel embarqué, dont les procédures de recouvrement automatique d’erreur de fonctionnement, nécessaires pour fiabilisé le système en vol.

Durant le début du premier semestre 2006, EADS-CRISA a livré les trois modèles de vol du boîtier électronique SCE, deux modèles qui seront intégrés sur le satellite (FM1 et FM2) et un modèle de rechange (PFM). Le SDI a eu la responsabilité de la mise en place et de l’exécution des tests fonctionnels sur ces boîtiers, selon le plan de qualité spatial en vigueur, aux normes ESA.

Ces tests se sont déroulés au LPSC en salle blanche, jusqu’en juin 2006, date à laquelle les électroniques FM1 et FM2 ont été livrées au fabricant du satellite (Thales Alenia Space à Cannes) pour intégration.

P6190003 PLANCK2

En parallèle à ces tests fonctionnels, une campagne de tests de validation cryogénique s’est déroulée au printemps 2006, mettant en œuvre les deux Sorption Coolers de vol, intégrés sur le modèle de qualification du satellite Planck, associés au boîtier SCE de qualification (CQM) testé et livré fin 2005. Ces tests se sont déroulés sur plusieurs semaines, au Centre Spatial de Liège (CSL) en Belgique, et ont permis de valider une partie des aspects cryogéniques du Sorption Cooler et de son boîtier électronique de commande.

 DSC00107

À la fin de l’année 2006, le boîtier SCE de qualification est requalifié en boîtier avionique (AVM) pour faire partie des tests avioniques sur un modèle du satellite. Ces tests, qui se focalisent essentiellement sur les aspects d’interface électrique du module de service du satellite se sont déroulés sur plusieurs jours, sur le site de Thales Alenia Space à Turin en Italie.

 IMG 1869

Enfin, au début de l’année 2007, de nouveau tests avioniques ont eu lieu, mais cette fois ci en pilotant le boîtier électronique à partir du « Mission Operating Center » de l’ESA (MOC), situé à Darmstadt en Allemagne.

Le SDI a entièrement organisé et a largement participé à l’ensemble de ces tests, tant au LPSC que sur sites.

En 2008, le satellite est transféré sur le site de lancement d’Ariane Espace à Kourou en Guyane. Et là encore, le SDI participe aux tests cryogéniques et de pré-lancement du satellite.

Apres le lancement du satellite, de nouveau, le service prend une part importante dans les opérations post lancement au Mission Operating Center (MOC) de l’ESA, à Darmstadt en Allemagne.

Tests unitaires

En parallèle, durant l'été 2004, une activité de test et de validation systématique du logiciel spatial embarqué du SCE a débuté.
Ce processus adjoint au développement a pour but de fiabiliser le logiciel à toutes ses échelles (fonctions unitaires, modules intégrés et système sur cible). Il exige le concours de plusieurs testeurs, une forte implication des programmeurs et des ingénieurs système, et l'emploi d'une méthodologie plus familière de l'industrie des transports ou de la défense que des laboratoires.

Le SDI, déjà fortement impliqué dans le test des systèmes Planck au LPSC, a été chargé de coordonner et de piloter ce travail, à la frontière de l'électronique, de l'informatique, du système et des méthodes de test. Une équipe de test a été constitué avec des personnes des différents services du laboratoire, mais aussi des chercheurs du groupe Planck du LPSC.

Une première itération de test unitaire a été confiée à un prestataire spécialisé, CAPTEC, recommandé par l'Agence Spatiale Européenne. Cette étape incontournable a toutefois montré ses limites : en effet les évolutions ultérieures du logiciel ont remis en cause la plupart des validations obtenues à cette époque, et puis le prestataire a restreint le champ de ses responsabilités à des modules dont il maîtrisait le test.

Début 2005, cette prestation s'est terminée et l'objectif restait d'achever le test pour la livraison d'un module critique, le logiciel de "boot", qui ne peut plus être modifié une fois implanté dans l'électronique. L'équipe de test logiciel a relevé ce défi en s'aidant pour une part de l'exemple et des résultats précédents, pour une autre part de l'expertise du Laboratoire Informatique de Grenoble (LIG, ex LSR, laboratoire Logiciels Systèmes Réseaux - INPG/UJF/CNRS), intéressé par notre démarche, et enfin d'une bonne dose d'imagination et d'esprit pratique.

Jusqu'en septembre 2005, deux stagiaires du LIG ont aussi apporté une importante contribution en complétant les tests unitaires sur la partie "applicatif" du logiciel à l'aide du logiciel Cantata++©. Cette dernière phase s'est formellement close début 2006, mais les scripts et les outils de test resteront indissociables du logiciel pendant toute la durée de sa vie.