CODALEMA Experiment

Within the CODALEMA experiment framework which the LPSC joined in the year 2005, in association with the Subatech laboratory in Nantes, the SDI designed and deployed in autumn, 2005, a network of cosmic rays detections, composed of five stations of detectors with scintillators and photomultipliers. These detectors are had on both sides the network of décamétric antennas, exploited for the detection of the radio waves emitted by the cosmic sparks.

The acquisition system of these detectors is based, at the material point of view, MATACQ cards type VME, developped by the LAL and the IRFU (ex DAPNIA), so as to be able to become integrated into the system existing on the antenna network. The department implemented this acquisition and developed several programs under LabVIEW® allowing to get back and store data, to make an on-line control of the rates of events as well as the piloting of the photomultipliers high voltages.

By means of the IT service of the LPSC, an automatic backup system of the data was set up and checks it remotely. The experiment can be made in a way secured way through the Internet network.

 070207-Vue CodA svn65

Planck Satellite

During year 2002, the prototype of the control system of the 20K cryo-generator of the Planck satellite , developped by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), laboratory of the NASA of Pasadena, USA, was made.

Two campaigns of tests in 2002 and one in 2003 were necessary to qualify material and software aspects of this device. These tests took place in close collaborations with the electronics department of the LPSC. The prototype being directly connected to the cryo-generator prototype itself, on the JPL site. The SDI, which is responsible for a part of the technical project management, organized these tests as well as the associated procedures. we also assured the development and the implementation of of the command system and an interactive application under LabVIEW©, allowing to pilot the whole device by simulating the interfaces of the satellite.

These campaigns of check were a big success, demonstrating the sensible character of the solutions of design proposed by the laboratory as well as the smooth running of the communication between the teams of the LPSC and the JPL.

After a long period of definition of the characteristics and the interfaces, the prototype command system of the cryo-generator 100mK of the satellite could be made has the end of year 2003.

The tests of qualification of this system took place in the year 2004, on the site of Air Liquide of Sassenage, manufacturer of the cryo-generator. The SDI developed the control system and an application under LabVIEW©, capable of simulate the definitive piloting of the device (Data Processor Unit, DPU) developed by the LAL at Orsay.

IMG 0705030509-02

Expérience CODALEMA

Dans le cadre de l’expérience CODALEMA à laquelle le LPSC s’est ralliée courant 2005, en collaboration avec le laboratoire de Subatech à Nantes, le SDI a conçu et déployé à l’automne 2005, un réseau de détection de rayons cosmiques, composé de cinq stations de détecteurs à base de scintillateurs et photomultiplicateurs. Ces détecteurs sont disposés de part et d’autre du réseau d’antennes décamétriques, exploité pour la détection des ondes radio émises par les gerbes cosmiques.

Le système d’acquisition de ces détecteurs est basé, du point de vu matériel, sur les cartes MATACQ de type VME, développées par le LAL et l'IRFU (ex DAPNIA), de façon à pouvoir s’intégrer au système existant sur le réseau d’antenne. Le service a mis en œuvre cette acquisition et a développé plusieurs programmes sous LabVIEW® permettant de récupérer et de stocker les données, d’effectuer un contrôle en ligne des taux d’événements ainsi que le pilotage des hautes tensions nécessaires aux photomultiplicateurs.

Avec l’aide du service informatique du LPSC, un système de sauvegarde automatique des données a été mis en place et le contrôle à distance de l’expérience peut s’effectuer de façon sécurisée à travers le réseau Internet.

 070207-Vue CodA svn65

Satellite Planck

Durant l’année 2002, le prototype du système de commande du cryo-générateur 20K du satellite Planck, développé par le Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), laboratoire de la NASA à Pasadena, USA, a été fabriqué.

Deux campagnes de tests en 2002 et une en 2003 ont été nécessaires pour qualifier les aspects matériels et logiciels de ce dispositif. Ces tests ont eu lieu en étroites collaboration avec les service d’électronique du LPSC. Le prototype étant connectés directement au prototype du cryo-générateur lui même, sur le site du JPL. Le SDI, qui est responsable d’une partie du management technique du projet, a organisé ces tests ainsi que les procédures associées. Il a également assuré le développement et la mise en œuvre d’un système de commande et d’une application interactive sous LabVIEW©, permettant de piloter l’ensemble du dispositif en simulant les interfaces du satellite.

Ces campagnes de vérification ont été un grand succès, démontrant le caractère judicieux des solutions de design proposées par le laboratoire ainsi que le bon fonctionnement de la communication entre les équipes du LPSC et du JPL.

Apres une longue période de définition des caractéristiques et des interfaces, le prototype du système de commande du cryo-générateur 100mK du satellite a pu être fabriqué a la fin de l’année 2003.

Les tests de qualification de ce système se sont déroulés courant 2004, sur le site d’Air Liquide à Sassenage, fabricant du cryo-générateur. Le SDI a développé un système de commande et une application sous LabVIEW©, capable de simuler le dispositif de pilotage définitif (Data Processor Unit, DPU) développé par le LAL a Orsay.

IMG 0705030509-02