• Project management at LPSC
  • Participation in the surface photo-detectors maintenance
  • Participation in the elaboration of the cosmic rays radio detection program on the AGER site in Argentina
  • Study and mechanical characterization of a new device prototype for pure water tanks for North site photo-detection
Auger logo

Patrick Stassi : Photodetection - Radiodetection - Technical Manager
Marc Marton : Detector Assembly
Mohammed Chala : Detector Assembly

 

190117 14h02 oz download pdfEASIER : Radio detection of very high energy cosmic rays at Pierre Auger Observatory (French)
190117 14h17 oz hyperlinkPierre Auger Observatory


Within the Pierre Auger Observatory framework, situated at Malargüe, Argentina, the SDI in participated from 2006 till 2009 in the following activities :

For the program of R&D "RAuger" on the radio detection of cosmic rays, three devices of autonomous radio detection were developed and installed on the site in Argentina, in association with Subatech, Nantes. The SDI made an important contribution for this activity by developing the power supply part by solar panels and batteries, as well as the mechanical supportof the set.

We also took in charge the part transport and logistics of the whole device and actively participated in its on site implementation in a first mission in 2006 then its upgrade in the second mission in 2007.

IMG 2650

 

Contact : Patrick Stassi

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Auger team homepage


 

Within the CODALEMA experiment framework which the LPSC joined in the year 2005, in association with the Subatech laboratory in Nantes, the SDI designed and deployed in autumn, 2005, a network of cosmic rays detections, composed of five stations of detectors with scintillators and photomultipliers. These detectors are had on both sides the network of décamétric antennas, exploited for the detection of the radio waves emitted by the cosmic sparks.

The acquisition system of these detectors is based, at the material point of view, MATACQ cards type VME, developped by the LAL and the IRFU (ex DAPNIA), so as to be able to become integrated into the system existing on the antenna network. The department implemented this acquisition and developed several programs under LabVIEW allowing to get back and store data, to make an on-line control of the rates of events as well as the piloting of the photomultipliers high voltages.

By means of the IT service of the LPSC, an automatic backup system of the data was set up and checks it remotely. The experiment can be made in a way secured way through the Internet network.

070207-Vue CodA svn65

 

The installation of the CODALEMA experiment, on the site of the radio telescope of Nançay, continued until 2007. The department deployed four new stations of scintillators detection in March, 2006, so coming to complete 5 stations already installed in 2005. The capture of data with this network of new detectors continued till the end of 2006.

In January, 2007, in difficult weather conditions, the department again installed four new detection stations, so completing the network of thirteen scintillators detectors planned at the origin of the project.

IM004107  IMG 2354

CodalemaNancay

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink CODALEMA homepage


In 2003, within the ULTRA experiment framework, the SDI widely contributed to the manufacturing, the implementation and the on-site installation of the ET-Scope set, intended to detect the particles from atmospheric sparks in association with the INFN of Turin and the IASF teams of Palermo, Italy.

These detectors among five, constituted of wide plates of scintillateurs associated to photomultipliers, were deployed near the Mount Cenis  dam in Savoy twice during two measuring campaigns of two weeks, in October, 2002 and June, 2003.

During these campaigns, the department assured the implementation of the on-site device as well as the logistics and the provision of an acquisition system. The data measurements in which we widely participated, were made during moonless nights, necessary conditions for good measurements.

Furthermore, a new type of detector (Belenos), developed by the SDI, intended to measure the Ultraviolet signals (250-450nm) associated to the atmospheric sparks also installed. The preliminary tests made in July, 2003 on the first prototype demonstrated the efficiency of this device.

At the end of the year on 2003 the ET-Scope was installed on site of the LPSC to make tests and long term measurements.

37030152

EPSN0006

 ULTRA

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink ULTRA homepage

• Coordination du projet au LPSC
  • Participation à la maintenance des photo-détecteurs du détecteur de surface
  • Participation à l’élaboration du programme de radio détections des rayons cosmiques sur le site d’AUGER en Argentine
  • Etude et réalisation mécanique d’un prototype du nouveau dispositif de photo détection pour les cuves à eau du site nord
Auger logo

Patrick Stassi : Photo détection - Radio détection - Responsable technique
Marc Marton : Conception Détecteur/CAO
Mohammed Chala : Montage Détecteur

 

190117 14h02 oz download pdfEASIER : Radio détection des rayons cosmiques de très haute énergie sur l'Observatoire Pierre Auger
190117 14h17 oz hyperlinkPierre Auger Observatory


Dans le cadre de l’Observatoire Pierre Auger, située à Malargüe, en Argentine, le SDI à participé de 2006 à 2009 aux activités suivantes :

Pour le programme de R&D "RAuger" sur la radio détection des rayons cosmiques, trois dispositifs de radio détection autonomes ont été développés et installés sur le site en Argentine, en collaboration avec Subatech, Nantes. Le SDI a apporté une contribution importante à cette activité en développant la partie alimentation de puissance par panneaux solaires et batteries, ainsi que le support mécanique de l’ensemble.

Nous avons également pris en charge la partie transport et logistique de l’ensemble du dispositif et participé activement à sa mise en oeuvre sur le site dans une première mission en 2006 puis à sa mise à niveau dans une deuxième mission en 2007.

IMG 2650

 

Contact : Patrick Stassi

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'équipe Auger


 

Dans le cadre de l’expérience CODALEMA à laquelle le LPSC s’est ralliée courant 2005, en collaboration avec le laboratoire de Subatech à Nantes, le SDI a conçu et déployé à l’automne 2005, un réseau de détection de rayons cosmiques, composé de cinq stations de détecteurs à base de scintillateurs et photomultiplicateurs. Ces détecteurs sont disposés de part et d’autre du réseau d’antennes décamétriques, exploité pour la détection des ondes radio émises par les gerbes cosmiques.

Le système d’acquisition de ces détecteurs est basé, du point de vu matériel, sur les cartes MATACQ de type VME, développées par le LAL et l'IRFU (ex DAPNIA), de façon à pouvoir s’intégrer au système existant sur le réseau d’antenne. Le service a mis en œuvre cette acquisition et a développé plusieurs programmes sous LabVIEW permettant de récupérer et de stocker les données, d’effectuer un contrôle en ligne des taux d’événements ainsi que le pilotage des hautes tensions nécessaires aux photomultiplicateurs.

Avec l’aide du service informatique du LPSC, un système de sauvegarde automatique des données a été mis en place et le contrôle à distance de l’expérience peut s’effectuer de façon sécurisée à travers le réseau Internet.

070207-Vue CodA svn65

 

L’installation de l’expérience CODALEMA, sur le site du radiotélescope de Nançay, s’est poursuivie jusqu'en 2007. Le service a déployé quatre nouvelles stations de détection à scintillateurs en mars 2006, venant ainsi compléter les 5 stations déjà installées en 2005. La prise de données avec ce réseau de neufs détecteurs s’est poursuivi jusqu’à la fin 2006.

En janvier 2007, dans des conditions climatiques difficiles, le service a de nouveau installé quatre nouvelles stations de détection, complétant ainsi le réseau des treize détecteurs à scintillateurs prévus à l’origine du projet.

IM004107  IMG 2354

CodalemaNancay

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'expérience CODALEMA


En 2003, dans le cadre de l'expérience ULTRA, le SDI a largement contribué à la fabrication, à la mise en œuvre et à l'installation sur site de l’ensemble ET-Scope, destiné à détecter les particules des gerbes atmosphériques en collaboration avec des équipes de l'INFN de Turin et de l'IASF de Palerme, Italie.

Ces détecteurs au nombre de cinq, constitués de larges plaques de scintillateurs associés à des photomultiplicateurs, ont été déployés près du barrage du Mont Cenis en Savoie à deux reprises lors de deux campagnes de mesures de deux semaines, en octobre 2002 et juin 2003.

Durant ces campagnes, le service a assuré la mise en œuvre du dispositif sur site ainsi que la logistique et la mise à disposition d’un système d’acquisition de données. Les prises de données auxquelles nous avons largement participé, se sont effectuées lors de nuits sans lune, conditions nécessaires pour les mesures.

De plus, un nouveau type de détecteur (Belenos), développé par le SDI, destiné à mesurer les signaux Ultra Violets (250-450nm) associés aux gerbes atmosphériques à également été installé. Les tests préliminaires effectués en juillet 2003 sur le premier prototype ont démontré l’efficacité de ce dispositif.

A la fin de l’année 2003 l’ET-Scope a été installé sur le site du LPSC pour effectuer des tests et des mesures de longues durées.

37030152

EPSN0006

 ULTRA

 

Contacts : Patrick Stassi, Olivier Zimmermann

 

190117 14h17 oz hyperlink Page de l'expérience ULTRA