The ion source team is one of the only groups in the world whose activity is totaly devoted to the development of Electron Cyclotron Resonance Ion Sources, whatever their objectives. This ion source type has been invented by Richard Geller at CEA-Grenoble, in the seventeens. At the origin, they were issued from the modification of a straight magnetic mirror machine dedicated to controlled thermonuclear fusion studies.

Electron Cyclotron Resonance Ion sources

An ECR ion source is a vacuum chamber immersed in a magnetic field and where we inject an HF electromagnetic wave. When the resonance condition (ωHF=eB/me) is satisfied, some energy transfer occurs between the electromagnetic wave and the electrons. A plasma is created, its ionic population characteristics depend mainly on the electrons average energy and on the magnetic confinement. The ions of the plasma are extracted with an electric field established by a set of electrodes placed at the extrimity of the cavity, where the magnetic field lines guide the ions.

The complexity and the cost of an ECR ion source directly depend on the ion beam types to be produced (intensity, energy, nature). These ion sources which are able to produce intense multicharged ion beams initially allowed a renewal of nuclear physics when they were installed on accelerators. Nowadays, they find more and more applications, like accelerators for hadrontherapy to destroy radioresistant malignant tumors with high energy carbon ion beams, or for industrial processes like material treatment and thin layers deposition.

Ion Sources team objectives

The objectives of our team is to design, build and test ion sources prototypes, their characterization diagnostics (beam lines with electrostatic or magnetic devices for transport and analysis, beam diagnostics). To reach these objectives, the ion source team has an excellent support of the LPSC technical departements.

We develop our activities in the frame of local, national, european and international programmes, as well as in collaboration with private companies.

The projects

SPIRAL2

In accelerators projects, the ion source team has an important contribution to the SPIRAL2 construction. This project has been recently modified. Previously, it was organized in two phases, the first one (phase 1) being dedicated to the production of intense stable ion beams, the second one (phase 2) to the production of accelerated exotic ones. Presently the production building and the production of intense exotic beams has been postponed.

For phase 1, our team has the responsability of the design, construction and tests of the high intensity multicharged heavy ion sources. The final objective, when sufficient funding will be available, will be to produce the highest beam intensities in the world (1 mA Ar12+). Moreover, LPSC and "Institut de Physique  Nucléaire de Lyon" have performed the construction and the qualification of the low energy beam line of the heavy ions injector, in collaboration with GANIL, CEA-IRFU and Institut de Pysique Hubert Curien. (see SPIRAL2 for more details).

Charge breeder

Concerning SPIRAL2 phase II, the ion source team has performed the design and the nuclearization of the charge breeder allowing the multi-ionization of the monocharged ions produced in a target ion source system, in order to allow their subsequent acceleration. This phase II being presently postponed, we have taken the responsability of the design, construction and qualification of the SPES accelerator (INFN-LNL) charge breeder, then in 2015 we will perform the qualification of the SPIRAL1 upgrade charge breeder.

High frequency ECRIS (60 GHz)

Since 2008, we have a research and development activity in high frequency ECR ion sources (60 GHz) in collaboration with the Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses in Grenoble and the Institute of Appllied Physics (Russian Academy of sciences) in Nizhny Novgorod. An ion source prototype based on a polyhelices magnetic structure (high field magnets techniques) has been built by our laboratory in collaboration with the LNCMI, a high power (300 kW), pulsed (50 to 1000 μsec), 60 GHz gyrotron has been designed and built by the GYCOM company and the Institute of Applied Physics, then installed in Grenoble. In March 2014, the first ion beams have been extracted from a 60 GHz ECR ion source having a topologicaly closed ECR resonance zone at 60 GHz (2.14T). The first obtained results are totally new with respect to the state of the art, worldwide.

Introduction

L'équipe "Sources d'Ions" du pôle accélérateurs et sources d'ions du LPSC est l'un des seuls groupes au monde dont l'activité est entièrement dédiée au développement des sources d'ions à la Résonance Cyclotronique Electronique, et ce quelle que soit leur utilisation. Ce type de sources d'ions a été inventé au CEA-Grenoble, par Richard Geller, dans les années 70, à partir de la reconversion des machines droites utilisées pour les études sur la fusion thermonucléaire contrôlée.

Les sources à la Résonance Cyclotronique Electronique (ECR)

Une source d'ions ECR est une cavité sous vide, immergée dans un champ magnétique, et dans laquelle on injecte une onde hyperfréquence. Celle-ci permet le chauffage des électrons et la formation d'un plasma, les caractéristiques de sa population ionique dépendront de l'énergie moyenne des électrons et du confinement magnétique. Les ions produits sont extraits à l'aide d'un champ électrique formé par un système d'électrodes placé à l'extrémité de la cavité.

La complexité et le coût de la source dépendent directement des types de faisceaux que l'on veut produire, ceux-ci étant déterminés par l'utilisation que l'on veut en faire. Initialement, ces sources souvent capables de produire des faisceaux intenses d'ions lourds multichargés, ont permis un renouveau de la physique de l'étude du noyau atomique (physique nucléaire). De nos jours, elles trouvent des applications de plus en plus nombreuses, telles que les accélérateurs pour la hadronthérapie permettant de détruire certains types de tumeurs radiorésistantes à l'aide de faisceaux d'ions de carbone de haute énergie, ou des applications totalement industrielles que ce soit pour le traitement des matériaux ou les dépôts de couches minces.

Missions du service

La mission du Service des Sources d'Ions est de concevoir, construire et tester des prototypes de sources d'ions, leurs outils de caractérisation (éléments magnétiques d'analyse et de transport, diagnostics de faisceaux), le développement allant jusqu'à leur intégration dans des machines de process pour les applications industrielles. Pour ce faire, l'équipe sources d'ions reçoit le soutien de la plupart des Services Techniques et Supports du LPSC.

Nous développons ces activités dans le cadre de programmes locaux, nationaux, européens et internationaux, ainsi qu'en collaboration avec des entreprises.

Les projets

SPIRAL2

Pour les projets d'accélérateurs, le service apporte une très forte contribution à la construction de SPIRAL2. Cet accélérateur, qui est en cours de construction, a pour objectif dans un premier temps, la production de faisceaux intenses d'ions stables (phase I), puis dans un deuxième temps la production de faisceaux d'ions exotiques accélérés (phase II).

Pour la phase I, le service a pour responsabilité la conception, construction et tests de la source d'ions lourds multichargés de haute intensité dont le cahier des charges ultime est sans précédent dans le monde (1 mA d'Ar12+). De plus le LPSC et l'Institut de Physique Nucléaire de Lyon ont pris en charge la construction et les tests de la ligne basse énergie ions lourds en collaboration avec le GANIL, le CEA-IRFU et l'IPHC. (voir SPIRAL2 pour plus de détails).

Booster de charge

Pour SPIRAL2 phase II, l'équipe a effectué la conception et la nucléarisation du booster de charge qui permet de multi-ioniser les ions radioactifs monochargés produits dans un ensemble cible-source en vue de leur accélération. Cette phase II étant pour le moment arrêtée, l'équipe a pris en charge la conception, la construction et la qualification du booster de charge de l'accélérateur SPES (INFN-Legnaro) puis assurera la qualification du booster de charge dans le cadre de l'upgrade de SPIRAL1.

Source ECR 60 GHz

Depuis 2008, l'équipe a une activité de R&D dans le domaine des sources d'ions à haute fréquence (60 GHz) en collaboration avec le Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses et l'Institute of Appllied Physics - Russian Academy of science. Un prototype de source d'ions utilisant les techniques des aimants à fort champ a été réalisé par le LPSC en collaboration avec le LNCMI, un gyrotron 60 GHz pulsé de haute puissance a été conçu et construit par la société GYCOM et l'IAP puis installé à Grenoble, ainsi en mars 2014 des premiers faisceaux d'ions ont été extraits d'une source d'ions ECR à 60 GHz possédant une zone de résonance à 2.14 T topoliquement fermée, les résultats obtenus sont tout à fait nouveaux, il s'agit d'une première mondiale.