Accelerator Driven System

ADS have the particularity of being "subcritical" reactors, i.e. there is no self-sustaining chain reaction and therefore the thermal power can only be maintained with an external supply of neutrons. In most of the concepts studied, an accelerator provides high-energy protons, which strike a spallation target made of a heavy metal (e.g. lead) located at the center of the subcritical reactor. The neutrons thus created by spallation in large numbers will create fissions in the core and make it possible to generate and maintain a certain thermal power that can be modulated or switched to zero on request by driving the accelerator. This control of the power by the accelerator makes it possible to use exotic fuels such as minor actinides, whose neutronic properties do not allow their use in large quantities in a critical reactor (essentially because of their small fraction of delayed neutrons and its impact on the reactor's control kinetics). The ADS incinerator is then operated in a fast version, with liquid lead as coolant. Such ADSs could find their place in a scenario where one wishes to incinerate, in dedicated systems, certain nuclear waste, more particularly minor actinides, produced by current PWR systems (so-called double stratum scenarios) or in the event of nuclear phase out: the objective would be to reduce their radiotoxicity and their residual heat and consequently the storage surfaces, which represents a major stake in waste management strategies, particularly for deep geological storage.

Reactivity monitoring

The potential of these systems has led to numerous international research programs to lift the various locks on the way to their feasibility, leading to a project to build a 100 MW intermediate power demonstrator at SCK-CEN (Belgium), the MYRRHA project.

Among the many experimental programs devoted to the various aspects of ADS, we have been involved since the 1990s in those dedicated to neutronics in the subcritical medium and more particularly to the crucial question of measuring the level of subcriticality of the reactor (or "reactivity"). This level must remain within safety margins that guarantee that the system will remain sufficiently far from criticality in the event of an incident (for example, during an accidental insertion of reactivity) so that the control of its power remains assured by the accelerator. It is therefore necessary to have a reliable absolute measurement of the level of subcriticality to ensure that the system remains within the margins defined beforehand. However, in normal operating mode, no direct measurement in the reactor gives access to the core reactivity, which is an overall physical parameter characterizing a core. It is therefore crucial to investigate neutronics and measurement methods dedicated to this type of core in order to do so reliably and rapidly. To do this, an experimental approach in a mock-up is essential. A zero power mock-up allows the study of the kinetics of the core independently of the thermal aspects.

The LPSC team and its collaborators at LPC Caen participated in the experimental program GUINEVERE from 2006 to 2020 (EUROTRANS, FREYA, MYRTE and MYRACL projects). This program followed on from the LPSC's work on the MUSE program (1998-2005), carried out at the MASURCA facility at CEA Cadarache, on whose conclusions it was built. It pursues the overall objective of validating a methodology for online monitoring of a future power system during its operation. It is also interested in characterizing the reactivity of the core in its final loading phase, i.e. from a fairly low level of reactivity to the chosen one. To do this, configurations as close as possible to the features expected for a power ADS have been studied.

The GUINEVERE project

From 2006 to 2010, within the framework of the European project EUROTRANS-IP, the GUINEVERE "project" mainly consisted in the realization of an experimental installation of mock-up type to have a tool adapted to the experimental needs. This model was built from the VENUS reactor of the SCK-CEN at Mol in Belgium. This research reactor, initially thermal, was modified for the GUINEVERE project in order to get as close as possible to the core of a fast lead-based ADS. The new core consists of a network of fuel pins of 30% enriched metallic uranium mixed with solid lead rodlets (CEA loan), and it is surrounded by lead reflectors. Four fuel assemblies are removed in its center to allow insertion of the terminal part of the beam line providing the neutron source (tritiated target), thus ensuring vertical coupling. This is a 14 MeV neutron source of the GENEPI type (T(d,n) reactions at 220 keV), the GENEPI-3C source, built by an IN2P3 collaboration and adapted to the new requirements of the experimental program. In addition to the initial intense pulsed mode, the GENEPI-3C source also operates in continuous mode (160 μA - 1 mA) in which fast, brief and recurrent beam interruptions can be programmed to regularly record the spectra of the time decay of the neutron population thus induced in the core. It is from these spectra that the methods used to determine the reactivity of the system are applied. This facility, which now bears the name GUINEVERE, was inaugurated in 2010 and can operate in coupled subcritical mode since October 2011. As the source is removable, the reactor can also be loaded in critical configuration if necessary.

gui coupe

Diagram of the GUINEVERE experimental facility (VENUS reactor coupled to the GENEPI-3C accelerator, on the SCK-CEN site at Mol). (Credits SCK-CNRS)

Visit the GUINEVERE facility:

http://youtu.be/KII1GNHD00A

The "GUINEVERE" experimental program focuses on methodologies to monitor the online the reactivity of an ADS. It has been carried out mainly in three phases, the European projects FREYA and MYRTE (led by the SCK-CEN), and the Franco-Belgian project MYRACL, which have in turn pushed the investigations into core and beam configurations increasingly representative of the ADS project MYRRHA, thus consolidating the steps necessary for its future licensing.

The FREYA project

During the European FREYA project "Fast Reactor Experiments for hYbrid Applications" (FP7 2011-2016), the studies focused initially on subcritical cores made up of enriched uranium and lead that are fairly homogeneous and symmetrical, in a reactivity range from -$18 to -$4 (multiplication factors ranging from 0.9 to 0.97) obtained by adjusting the number of fuel assemblies at the periphery of the core, or by playing on the control rods. Different measurement techniques could be applied using either pulsed beams or continuous beams with interruptions, allowing in both cases to apply methods exploiting the temporal dynamics of the neutron population to extract reactivity. More exotic configurations were then realized in order to test the robustness of the methods according to the composition of the core: the position of the source was modified, part of the lead reflector was replaced by stainless steel, an assembly simulating an irradiation cell was installed. After this first approach, more concentrated fuel assemblies including alumina were used to soften the neutron energy spectrum (closer to that of MYRRHA), and to obtain smaller cores allowing to test new elements in the reflector, such as new irradiation cells or the presence of graphite to simulate the beryllium oxide one foreseen in MYRRHA. The same reactivity measurement methods could be tested on these cores. Very good agreements were obtained between the reactivities of these cores determined by a reference method (MSM method) and the measurements carried out durin beam interruptions using U5 fission chambers after correction for space-energy effects.

The MYRTE project

The design of the core for the MYRRHA project has undergone constant evolution in parallel with the experimental programs, leading to the definition of new experimental configurations to test the reliability of reactivity measurements under more representative conditions. Thus part (WP5) of the European project MYRTE (MYRRHA Research and Transmutation Endeavour, H2020, 2016-2019) has allowed us to deepen our studies by replacing part of the initial lead in the core assemblies with bismuth in order to simulate the presence of the Pb-Bi eutectic expected in MYRRHA, by adding a double graphite ring between the fuel zone and the reflector, with the possibility of also installing several irradiation cells in the core. In addition to these new features, these experiments focused particularly on the instrumentation dedicated to reactivity measurements: the nature of the fission chamber deposits and their location, with the constraint of being able to carry out reliable measurements in the reflector. In addition to the U5 fission chambers of different sensitivities used in previous campaigns, U8 fission chambers (therefore threshold fission chambers) with different degrees of purity have been added, and also the possibility of shielding the U5 chambers with boron covers to promote the detection of fast neutrons. Many detector locations could be tested, and the measurements were concentrated on the continuous mode interrupted periodically. Spatial effects were again demonstrated, all the more important as the subcriticality is high, but computable by Monte Carlo code, and finally leading to quite reliable reactivity values, showing the possibility to monitor the reactivity in the reflector with such detectors.

The MYRACL project

A final aspect of reactivity measurements required a dedicated project: this is the case of the starting-up of a power ADS, characterized by two aspects: at starting-up the reactor will be deep subcritical, and the power injected by the linear accelerator coupled to the core will not be at its nominal level but only a few percent. It is the purpose of the MYRACL (MYRRHA ACceLerator) project, a collaboration between IN2P3 and SCK-CEN (2017-2021), to try to reproduce this type of measurement conditions on the GUINEVERE mock-up to demonstrate the feasibility of monitoring. From the last core studied in MYRTE, made deep subcritical by playing on the insertion of the safety rods (from -21$ to -7$), reactivity measurements were performed by operating the GENEPI-3C accelerator in interrupted continuous mode but with a very low duty cycle, typically 2% (2 ms of beam over a period of 100 ms). These measurements could also be repeated in an even more subcritical core with a few less fuel assemblies (-30$) in order to take into account the difference in delayed neutron fraction between the VENUS-F and MYRRHA cores (due to the difference in fuel composition) and to represent a fairly subcritical level of MYRRHA. Depending on the location of the detectors (and their nature), in particular on their proximity to core heterogeneities, the raw results are quite scattered for the same core, all the more so as the core is more subcritical. This dispersion is nevertheless reduced to 2% by applying the calculated spatial-energy factors, leading to a good agreement with the reference MSM values.

The entire GUINEVERE experimental program is still undergoing further analysis.

References

  • T.M. Chevret, J.L. Lecouey, Nathalie Marie, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, G. Ban, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, X. Doligez, X. Kochetkov, P. Baeten, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wagemans, F. Mellier, V. Becares, and D. Villamarin. Reactivity Measurement of the Lead Fast Subcritical VENUS-F Reactor Using Beam Interruption Experiments. In PHYSOR2014 - The Role of Reactor Physics towards a Sustainable Future, number 1087437, page 15 p., Kyoto, Japan, September 2014. UR http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01109518.

  • S. Chabod, A. Billebaud, F.R. Lecolley, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, Nathalie Marie, G. Ban, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, P. Baeten, A. Krasa, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wageman, F. Mellier, and D. Villamarin. Reactivity Measurements at GUINEVERE Facility Using the Integral kp Method. In PHYSOR2014 - The Role of Reactor Physics towards a Sustainable Future, number 1104440, page 13 p., Kyoto, Japan, September 2014. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01109546.

  • J.L. Lecouey, Nathalie Marie, G. Ban, G. Bianchini, A. Billebaud, M. Carta, S. Chabod, V. Fabrizio, A. Kochetkov, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, F. Mellier, H.E. Thyebault, W. Uyttenhove, C. Van Grieken, and G. Vittiglio. Estimate of the reactivity of the VENUS-F subcritical con guration using a Monte Carlo MSM method. Annals of Nuclear Energy, 83:65{75, 2015b. doi: 10.1016/j.anucene.2015.04.010. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01177675.

  • X. Doligez, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, T. Chevret, D. Fourmentel, A. Krasa, A. Kochetkov, F.R. Lecolley, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, N. Marie, F. Mellier, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Effective delayed neutron fraction measurement in the critical VENUS-F reactor using noise techniques. In 4th International Conference on Advancements in Nuclear Instrumentation Measurement Methods and their Applications, pages 1{6, Lisbon, Portugal, April 2015. doi: 10.1109/ANIMMA.2015.7465614. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01645780.

  • J.L. Lecouey, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, P. Baeten, V. Becares, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, T. Chevret, X. Doligez, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, Nathalie Marie, F. Mellier, W. Uyttenhove, D. Villamarin, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Monte Carlo MSM correction factors for control rod worth estimates in subcritical and near-critical fast neutron reactors. EPJ N - Nuclear Sciences & Technologies, 1:2, 2015a. doi: 10.1051/epjn/e2015-50041-5. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01274914.

  • N. Marie, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, T. Chevret, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, F.R. Lecolley, F. Mellier, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Reactivity monitoring of the accelerator driven VENUS-F subcritical reactor with the "current-to-flux" method. Annals Nucl.Energy, 128:12{23, 2019. doi: 10.1016/j.anucene.2018.12.033. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01975522.

  • A. Billebaud, J.-L Lecouey, T. Chevret, Sebastien Chabod, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, F.-R Lecolley, G. Lehaut, N. Marie, Nadia Messaoudi, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wagemans, V. Becares, D. Villamarin, and Frederic Mellier. Extended MSM method to estimate the reactivity of a sub-critical core driven by an accelerator based neutron source. In PHYSOR 2020 - Transition to a Scalable Nuclear Future, page 8, Cambridge, United Kingdom, March 2020. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-03016382. ISBN 978-1-5272-6447-2.

Les réacteurs pilotés par accélérateur (Accelerator Driven System)

Les ADS ont la particularité d’être des réacteurs « sous-critiques », c'est à dire qu'il n'y a pas de réaction en chaîne auto-entretenue et par conséquent, la puissance thermique ne peut être maintenue qu'avec un apport externe de neutrons. Dans la plupart des concepts étudiés un accélérateur fournit des protons de haute énergie, qui vont frapper une cible de spallation faite d’un métal lourd (par exemple du plomb) située au cœur du réacteur sous-critique. Les neutrons ainsi créés par spallation en grand nombre vont créer des fissions dans le cœur et permettre de générer et maintenir une certaine puissance thermique qui pourra être modulée ou devenir nulle sur commande par le pilotage de l’accélérateur. Ce contrôle de la puissance par l’accélérateur permet d’utiliser des combustibles un peu exotiques comme les actinides mineurs dont les propriétés neutroniques ne permettent pas l’utilisation en grandes quantités en réacteur critique (essentiellement à cause de leur faible fraction de neutrons retardés et de son impact sur la cinétique de pilotage du réacteur). L’ADS incinérateur est alors exploité en version rapide, avec du plomb liquide comme caloporteur. De tels ADS pourraient trouver leur place dans un scénario où l’on souhaiterait incinérer, dans des systèmes dédiés, certains déchets nucléaires, plus particulièrement les actinides mineurs, produits par les filières REP actuelles (scénarios dits à double strate) ou en cas d’arrêt du nucléaire (scénarios de fin de cycle): l’objectif serait de réduire leur radiotoxicité et leur chaleur résiduelle et par conséquent les surfaces de stockage, ce qui représente un enjeu majeur dans les stratégies de gestion des déchets et notamment pour l’enfouissement géologique.

Le contrôle de la réactivité (ou sous-criticité)

Le potentiel de ces systèmes a été à l’origine de nombreux programmes de recherches internationaux pour lever les différents verrous sur le chemin de leur faisabilité, menant à un projet de construction d’un démonstrateur de puissance intermédiaire de 100 MW au SCK-CEN (Belgique), le projet MYRRHA

Parmi les nombreux programmes expérimentaux consacrés aux différents aspects des ADS nous nous sommes impliqués dès les années quatre-vingt-dix dans ceux dédiés à la neutronique du milieu sous-critique et plus particulièrement à la question cruciale de la mesure du niveau de sous-criticité du réacteur (ou « réactivité »). Ce niveau doit rester dans des marges de sûreté qui garantissent que le système restera suffisamment loin de la criticité en cas d’incident (par exemple lors d’une insertion accidentelle de réactivité) pour que le pilotage de sa puissance reste assuré par l’accélérateur. Il est donc nécessaire de disposer d’une mesure absolue fiable du niveau de sous-criticité pour s’assurer que le système reste dans les marges définies préalablement. Or, en mode de fonctionnement normal, aucune mesure directe dans le réacteur ne donne accès à la réactivité du cœur, paramètre physique global caractérisant un cœur. Il est donc crucial d’investiguer la neutronique et des méthodes de mesure dédiées à ce type de cœur pour y parvenir de façon fiable et rapide. Pour ce faire une approche expérimentale sur maquette est indispensable. De puissance quasi-nulle, une maquette permet d’étudier la cinétique du cœur indépendamment des aspects thermiques.

L’équipe du LPSC et ses collaborateurs du LPC Caen ont participé au programme expérimental GUINEVERE de 2006 à 2020 (projets EUROTRANS, FREYA, MYRTE et MYRACL). Ce programme a fait suite aux travaux du LPSC sur le programme MUSE (1998-2005), réalisé auprès de MASURCA au CEA Cadarache, sur les conclusions desquels il a été bâti. Il poursuit l’objectif global de valider dans son ensemble une méthodologie de suivi en ligne de la réactivité d’un futur système de puissance au cours de son fonctionnement. Il s’intéresse également à la caractérisation de la réactivité du cœur dans sa phase finale de chargement, donc à partir d’un niveau de réactivité assez bas jusqu’à celui choisi. Pour ce faire des configurations aussi proches que possibles des caractéristiques prévues pour un ADS de puissance ont été étudiées.

Le projet GUINEVERE

De 2006 à 2010, dans le cadre du projet européen EUROTRANS-IP, le « projet » GUINEVERE a principalement consisté en la réalisation d’une installation expérimentale de type maquette pour disposer d’un outil adapté aux besoins expérimentaux. Cette maquette a été construite à partir du réacteur VENUS du SCK-CEN à Mol en Belgique. Ce réacteur de recherche, initialement thermique, a été modifié pour le projet GUINEVERE afin d’approcher au mieux le cœur d’un ADS rapide au plomb. Le nouveau cœur est constitué d’un réseau d’aiguilles de combustible d’uranium métallique enrichi à 30% mélangées à des réglettes de plomb solide (prêt CEA), et il est entouré par des réflecteurs en plomb. Quatre assemblages combustible sont retirés en son centre pour permettre l’insertion de la partie terminale de la ligne de faisceau fournissant la source de neutrons (cible tritiée), assurant ainsi un couplage vertical. Il s’agit d’une source de neutrons de 14 MeV de type GENEPI (réactions T(d,n) à 220 keV), la source GENEPI-3C, construite par une collaboration IN2P3 et adaptée aux nouvelles exigences du programme expérimental. Au mode pulsé intense initial s’est ajouté un fonctionnement en mode continu (160 μA - 1 mA) dans lequel peuvent être programmées des interruptions rapides, brèves et récurrentes de faisceau afin notamment d’enregistrer régulièrement les spectres de la décroissance temporelle de la population de neutrons ainsi induite dans le cœur. C’est à partir de ces spectres que sont appliquées les méthodes permettant de déterminer la réactivité du système. Cette installation, qui porte maintenant le nom de GUINEVERE, a été inaugurée en 2010 et peut fonctionner en mode sous-critique couplé depuis octobre 2011. La source étant amovible, le réacteur peut également être chargé en mode critique si besoin.

gui coupe

Schéma de l'installation expérimentale GUINEVERE (réacteur VENUS couplé à l'accélérateur GENEPI-3C, sur le site du SCK-CEN à Mol). (Crédits SCK-CNRS)

Visite de l'installation expérimentale GUINEVERE:

http://youtu.be/KII1GNHD00A

Le programme expérimental « GUINEVERE » est axé sur les méthodologies permettant de monitorer la réactivité en ligne d'un ADS. Il a été exécuté principalement au cours de trois phases, les projets européens FREYA et MYRTE (portés par le SCK-CEN), et le projet franco-belge MYRACL, qui ont tour à tour poussé les investigations dans des configurations de cœur et de faisceaux toujours plus représentatives du projet d’ADS MYRRHA, consolidant ainsi les étapes nécessaires à son futur licensing.

Le projet FREYA

Au cours du projet européen FREYA « Fast Reactor Experiments for hYbrid Applications » (FP7 2011-2016) les études se sont concentrées dans un premier temps sur des cœurs sous-critiques constitués d’uranium enrichi et de plomb assez homogènes et symétriques, dans une gamme de réactivités allant de -18$ à -4$ (facteurs de multiplication allant de 0,9 à 0,97) obtenues en ajustant le nombre d’assemblages combustible à la périphérie du cœur, ou en jouant sur les barres de contrôle. Différentes techniques de mesure ont pu être appliquées en utilisant soit des faisceaux pulsés, soit des faisceaux continus comportant des interruptions, permettant dans les deux cas d’appliquer des méthodes exploitant la dynamique temporelle de la population de neutrons pour extraire la réactivité. Des configurations plus exotiques ont ensuite été réalisées dans le but de tester la robustesse des méthodes en fonction de la composition du cœur: la position de la source a été modifiée, une partie du réflecteur en plomb a été remplacée par de l'acier, un assemblage simulant une cellule d'irradiation a été installée. Après cette première approche des assemblages plus concentrés en combustible mais incluant également de l’alumine ont été utilisés afin d’adoucir le spectre en énergie des neutrons d’une part (plus proche de celui de MYRRHA), et d’obtenir des cœurs plus petits permettant de tester de nouveaux éléments dans le réflecteur d’autre part, comme de nouvelles cellules d’irradiation ou la présence de graphite pour simuler celle d’oxyde de béryllium prévue dans MYRRHA. Les mêmes méthodes de mesure de réactivité ont pu être testées sur ces cœurs. De très bons accords ont été obtenus entre les réactivités de ces cœurs déterminées par une méthode de référence (méthode MSM) et les mesures réalisées dans des interruptions de faisceau grâce à des chambres à fission à U5 après correction des effets spatiaux-énergétiques.

Le projet MYRTE

La conception du cœur pour le projet MYRRHA a connu de constantes évolutions en parallèle des programmes expérimentaux, conduisant à définir de nouvelles configurations expérimentales pour tester la fiabilité des mesures de réactivité dans des conditions plus représentatives. Ainsi une partie (WP5) du projet européen MYRTE (MYRRHA Research and Transmutation Endeavour, H2020, 2016-2019) a permis d’approfondir nos études en remplaçant une partie du plomb initial des assemblages de cœur par du bismuth afin de simuler la présence de l’eutectique Pb-Bi prévu dans MYRRHA, en ajoutant une double couronne de graphite entre la zone combustible et le réflecteur, avec la possibilité d’installer également plusieurs cellules d’irradiation dans le cœur. Outre ces nouvelles caractéristiques ces expériences se sont particulièrement concentrées sur l’instrumentation dédiée aux mesures de réactivité : la nature des dépôts des chambres à fission et leur emplacement, avec la contrainte de pouvoir réaliser des mesures fiables dans le réflecteur. Aux chambres à fission à U5 de différentes sensibilités utilisées pour les précédentes campagnes se sont ajoutées des chambres à fission à U8 (donc à seuil) avec différents degrés de pureté, et également la possibilité d’écranter les chambres à U5 avec des couvertures borées pour favoriser la détection de neutrons rapides. De nombreux emplacements de détecteurs ont pu être testés, et les mesures se sont concentrées sur le mode continu interrompu périodiquement. Des effets spatiaux ont à nouveau été mis en évidence, d’autant plus importants que la sous-criticité est grande, mais calculables par code Monte Carlo, et conduisant finalement à des valeurs de réactivité assez fiables, montrant la possibilité de monitorer la réactivité dans le réflecteur avec des détecteurs à U5.

Le projet MYRACL

Un dernier aspect des mesures de réactivité a nécessité un projet dédié : il s’agit du cas de figure du démarrage d’un ADS de puissance, caractérisé par deux aspects : au démarrage le réacteur sera très sous-critique, et la puissance injectée par l’accélérateur linéaire couplé au cœur ne pourra pas être à son niveau nominal mais à quelques pourcents seulement. C’est l’objet du projet MYRACL (MYRRHA ACceLerator), collaboration entre l’IN2P3 et le SCK-CEN (2017-2021) d’essayer de reproduire ce type de conditions de mesure sur la maquette GUINEVERE pour démontrer la faisabilité du monitoring. A partir du dernier cœur étudié dans MYRTE, rendu très sous-critique en jouant sur l’insertion des barres de sûreté (de -21$ à -7$), des mesures de réactivité ont été réalisées en faisant fonctionner l’accélérateur GENEPI-3C en mode continu interrompu mais avec un très faible cycle utile, typiquement 2% (2 ms de faisceau sur une période de 100 ms). Ces mesures ont également pu être réitérées dans un cœur encore plus sous-critique comportant quelques assemblages combustible en moins (-30$) de façon à tenir compte de la différence de fraction de neutrons retardés entre le cœur de VENUS-F et celui de MYRRHA (due à la différence de combustible) et représenter un niveau assez sous-critique de MYRRHA. Selon l’emplacement des détecteurs (et leur nature), en particulier selon leur proximité avec des hétérogénéités du cœur, les résultats bruts sont assez dispersés pour un même cœur, d’autant plus que le cœur est sous-critique.  Cette dispersion se réduit néanmoins à 2% en appliquant les facteurs spatiaux-énergétiques calculés, menant à un bon accord avec les valeurs MSM de référence.

L’ensemble du programme expérimental GUINEVERE fait encore l’objet de travaux d’analyse complémentaires.

Quelques références

  • T.M. Chevret, J.L. Lecouey, Nathalie Marie, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, G. Ban, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, X. Doligez, X. Kochetkov, P. Baeten, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wagemans, F. Mellier, V. Becares, and D. Villamarin. Reactivity Measurement of the Lead Fast Subcritical VENUS-F Reactor Using Beam Interruption Experiments. In PHYSOR2014 - The Role of Reactor Physics towards a Sustainable Future, number 1087437, page 15 p., Kyoto, Japan, September 2014. UR http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01109518.

  • S. Chabod, A. Billebaud, F.R. Lecolley, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, Nathalie Marie, G. Ban, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, P. Baeten, A. Krasa, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wageman, F. Mellier, and D. Villamarin. Reactivity Measurements at GUINEVERE Facility Using the Integral kp Method. In PHYSOR2014 - The Role of Reactor Physics towards a Sustainable Future, number 1104440, page 13 p., Kyoto, Japan, September 2014. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01109546.

  • J.L. Lecouey, Nathalie Marie, G. Ban, G. Bianchini, A. Billebaud, M. Carta, S. Chabod, V. Fabrizio, A. Kochetkov, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, F. Mellier, H.E. Thyebault, W. Uyttenhove, C. Van Grieken, and G. Vittiglio. Estimate of the reactivity of the VENUS-F subcritical con guration using a Monte Carlo MSM method. Annals of Nuclear Energy, 83:65{75, 2015b. doi: 10.1016/j.anucene.2015.04.010. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01177675.

  • X. Doligez, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, T. Chevret, D. Fourmentel, A. Krasa, A. Kochetkov, F.R. Lecolley, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, N. Marie, F. Mellier, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Effective delayed neutron fraction measurement in the critical VENUS-F reactor using noise techniques. In 4th International Conference on Advancements in Nuclear Instrumentation Measurement Methods and their Applications, pages 1{6, Lisbon, Portugal, April 2015. doi: 10.1109/ANIMMA.2015.7465614. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01645780.

  • J.L. Lecouey, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, P. Baeten, V. Becares, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, T. Chevret, X. Doligez, F.R. Lecolley, G. Lehaut, Nathalie Marie, F. Mellier, W. Uyttenhove, D. Villamarin, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Monte Carlo MSM correction factors for control rod worth estimates in subcritical and near-critical fast neutron reactors. EPJ N - Nuclear Sciences & Technologies, 1:2, 2015a. doi: 10.1051/epjn/e2015-50041-5. URL http://hal.in2p3.fr/in2p3-01274914.

  • N. Marie, J.L. Lecouey, G. Lehaut, T. Chevret, A. Billebaud, S. Chabod, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, F.R. Lecolley, F. Mellier, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, and J. Wagemans. Reactivity monitoring of the accelerator driven VENUS-F subcritical reactor with the "current-to-flux" method. Annals Nucl.Energy, 128:12{23, 2019. doi: 10.1016/j.anucene.2018.12.033. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01975522.

  • A. Billebaud, J.-L Lecouey, T. Chevret, Sebastien Chabod, X. Doligez, A. Kochetkov, A. Krasa, F.-R Lecolley, G. Lehaut, N. Marie, Nadia Messaoudi, W. Uyttenhove, G. Vittiglio, J. Wagemans, V. Becares, D. Villamarin, and Frederic Mellier. Extended MSM method to estimate the reactivity of a sub-critical core driven by an accelerator based neutron source. In PHYSOR 2020 - Transition to a Scalable Nuclear Future, page 8, Cambridge, United Kingdom, March 2020. URL https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-03016382. ISBN 978-1-5272-6447-2.