The GUINEVERE project

The GUINEVERE project (Generator of Uninterrupted Intense Neutrons at the lead Venus REactor) is led in support of researches dedicated to accelerator driven sub-critical reactors or ADS (Accelerator Driven System). It consists in a coupling experiment of a sub-critical reactor mock-up (the VENUS reactor at SCK-CEN, Mol, Belgium) to a 14 MeV neutron source provided by the GENEPI-3C deuteron accelerator (T(d,n) reactions at 220 keV). This coupling, performed at a zero power, allows the study of core kinetics without thermal effects, and in particular to develop and validate a methodolodgy to make the reactivity on-line monitoring of a powerful system during its operation. The thermal power of an ADS is governed by a proportionality relationship with the number of external neutrons injected into the core, and then with the beam intensity sent onto the neutron production target. An accidental reactivity insertion can then be balanced by a decrease of the beam intensity, on condition that the core remains far enough from the criticality. This can be guaranteed only by the on-line monitoring of the sub-criticality level or "reactivity" of the system.  This issue is crucial for the safety of an ADS, in particular in the case it is envisaged for minor actinide incineration. This is the reason why it is a subject of a huge experimental effort since several years. The GUINEVERE project is a follow-up of the MUSE experiment (achieved in EURATOM FP5) and is built on its conclusions, aiming at validating a complete methodolodgy in a core as close as possible of the one of a powerful ADS, and then making as far as possible its transposition to a true powerful system.

Visit of the GUINEVERE facility

http://youtu.be/KII1GNHD00A

The FREYA project

At the end of the EUROTRANS integrated project, new projects were launched in EURATOM FP7 to investigate special issues required by the making of an ADS demonstrator. Promoting such a project (the MYRRHA project) since the 90's, SCK-CEN received in 2010 an agreement from the Belgian government to support a pre-project phase (the « Front End Engineering Design », FEED, and also the licensing procedure) to be expertised in 2014. The reactor of the MYRRHA project is not only foreseen to be an accelerator driven sub-critical reactor but also a multipurpose irradiation facility to replace, in the future, the Belgian BR2 reactor. It will be operated both in critical or sub-critical configuration, and in this latter case it will be fed by a 600 MeV proton accelerator coupled to a spallation target, and will be loaded with a MOX fuel in a liquid lead-bismuth coolant. 

Several FP7 European projects support the MYRRHA project (CDT, MAX,…). The experimental project GUINEVERE, with addtional objectives related to the MYRRHA critical configuration is still running in the FP7 FREYA project (Fast Reactor Experiments for hYbrid Applications), led by SCK-CEN (2011-2016). It consists of five Work Packages :

-          WP1: ADS on-line reactivity monitoring methodologies

-          WP2: Subcritical configurations for design and licensing of MYRRHA/FASTEF

-          WP3: Critical configurations for design and licensing of MYRRHA/FASTEF

-          WP4: Critical configurations for Lead Fast Reactor

-          WP5: Training and Education

The LPSC is in charge of the WP1 coordination which gathers the initial GUINEVERE objectives and some new extensions.

Le projet GUINEVERE

Le projet GUINEVERE (Generator of Uninterrupted Intense Neutrons at the lead Venus REactor) est mené en soutien aux recherches dédiées aux réacteurs sous-critiques pilotés par accélérateur ou ADS pour « Accelerator Driven System ». Il consiste en une expérience de couplage d’un réacteur maquette sous-critique (le réacteur VENUS du SCK-CEN, Mol, Belgique) à une source de neutrons de 14 MeV générés par l’accélérateur de deutons GENEPI-3C (réactions T(d,n) à 220 keV). Ce couplage, réalisé à puissance quasi-nulle, permet d’étudier la cinétique du cœur indépendamment des aspects thermiques, et notamment de mettre au point et valider la méthodologie à mettre en œuvre pour le suivi en ligne de la réactivité d’un système de puissance au cours de son fonctionnement. En effet, la puissance thermique d’un ADS est gouvernée par une relation de proportionnalité simple avec le nombre de neutrons que l’on injecte dans le cœur et donc avec l’intensité du faisceau envoyé sur la cible source de neutrons. Ainsi une insertion accidentelle de réactivité peut toujours être compensée par une diminution de l’intensité du faisceau, à condition toutefois que le cœur soit suffisamment loin de la criticité. Cette garantie ne peut être apportée que par le suivi en ligne du niveau de sous-criticité ou « réactivité » du système. Ce point, non trivial d’un point de vue pratique, est crucial pour la sûreté d’un ADS, en particulier s’il est envisagé à des fins d’incinération d’actinides mineurs,  ce qui explique et justifie qu’il fasse l’objet d’un effort expérimental important depuis plusieurs années. Le projet GUINEVERE s’inscrit dans la droite ligne de l’expérience MUSE (réalisée dans 5ème programme cadre d’EURATOM) sur les conclusions de laquelle il a été bâti, avec l’objectif de valider une méthodologie dans son ensemble, dans un cœur plus proche des caractéristiques prévues pour un ADS de puissance, et enfin de l’adapter autant que faire se peut aux conditions d’un système de puissance.

Visite de l'installation expérimentale

http://youtu.be/KII1GNHD00A

Le projet FREYA

A l’issue du projet intégré EUROTRANS, les recherches se sont à nouveau organisées dans le FP7 d’EURATOM pour répondre aux besoins des études dédiées à la réalisation d’un démonstrateur d’ADS.  Porteur d’un tel projet depuis les années 90, le projet MYRRHA, le SCK-CEN a reçu l’aval du gouvernement belge en 2010 avec le financement de la réalisation d’une phase de pré-projet (le « Front End Engineering Design », FEED, ainsi que la procédure de licensing) qui sera expertisé en 2014. Le réacteur du projet MYRRHA va bien au-delà d’un réacteur sous-critique piloté par accélérateur puisqu’il a pour objectif de constituer une installation flexible d’irradiation pour remplacer à terme le réacteur belge BR2. Il pourra fonctionner en configuration critique ou sous-critique, sera alimenté dans ce dernier cas par un accélérateur de protons de 600 MeV et une cible de spallation, aura un combustible de type MOX et un caloporteur plomb-bismuth liquide.

Les études menées pour ce projet sont soutenues par plusieurs projets européens du FP7 (CDT, MAX,…). Le programme expérimental de GUINEVERE, auquel se sont ajoutés des objectifs associés à la configuration critique de MYRRHA, se poursuit dans le FP7 dans le projet FREYA (Fast Reactor Experiments for hYbrid Applications), porté par le SCK-CEN (2011-2015). Il se découpe en cinq Work Packages :

-          WP1: ADS on-line reactivity monitoring methodologies

-          WP2: Subcritical configurations for design and licensing of MYRRHA/FASTEF

-          WP3: Critical configurations for design and licensing of MYRRHA/FASTEF

-          WP4: Critical configurations for Lead Fast Reactor

-          WP5: Training and Education

Le LPSC a en charge la coordination du WP1 qui englobe les objectifs de GUINEVERE et ses extensions.